Upcoming Events
Name Day

The Rally of Gods

All the main contenders of the World Rally Championship are in the entry list of the Acropolis Rally 2012! The Acropolis Rally of Greece will typically start on Thursday, 24 May at 17:00, with the ceremonial start in front of Zappion and 55 crews taking part in it. After the Argentina Rally, the teams and crews will have to prepare for the toughest event of the WRC calendar, which is bigger in both its length and days being held.

The World Championship leaders Loeb-Elena, in the Citroen DS3 WRC, will try to win the Greek event, after two occasions when they didn't grab the victory in our country. The Citroen debut of their teammates Hirvonen-Lehtinen is also very interesting, since the Finn duo were the winners of the 2009 Acropolis Rally edition, when they were driving for Ford. So their first Acropolis entrance in a Citroen is really important. For ford WRT, it is worth watching Petter Solberg, who has returned to a factory team after three years rallying as a privateer, as well as of course the Ford team leaders Jari-Matti Latvala-Miika Anttila, who are returning in the Ford Fiesta RS WRC, after the drivers' skiing injury, that kept them out of the Argentina Rally. It is also worth noting, that the Greek spectators may not be able to see Dani Sordo-Carlos Del Barrio in a Prodrive prepared Mini JCW WRC, but the newest car of the WRC category will be in the Greek Special Stages, driven by Armindo Araujo-Miguel Ramalho and Paulo Nobre-Paula Edu. Except from the crews mentioned above, there are more, important, WRC cars in the entry list. Some of them are the young and talented Ott Tanak and Evgeny Novikov, co driven by Kuldar Sikk and Denis Giraudet respectively, for the M-Sport Ford WRT, the Portugal Rally winners Mads Ostberg-Jonas Andersson in another Ford Fiesta RS WRC, as well as Thierry Neuville-Nicolas Gilsoul in a Citroen DS3 WRC.

Except from the WRC cars, in the Acropolis Rally will participate 10 crews of PWRC Category, as well as 11 crews of WRC Academy, who will enter the event in identical Ford Fiesta's R2 during Thursday (Kinetta), Friday and the first leg of Saturday. In the entry list, there are also 7 Greek crews, headed by 2011 Greek Rally Champions Lambros Kyrkos-George Polizois, in a Mitsubishi Lancer EVO 9.

The Acropolis Rally 2012 that will be held from may 24th to 27th will host crews from 32 countries that will compete in 22 special stages of 410 kilometers in total. Stay tuned for the 58th rendez-vous of Greece with the World Rally Championship!

Tuesday, May 8, 2012